socialmediakids

I’m Making It Work

Posted on: August 11, 2011

Social maturity is variable but parental guidance can constructively shape and drive it. My son has been on Facebook since 10, I am an active friend and monitor, and we talk about what is being posted including comments and photos, etc. He has to take down anything I overrule, but always in the context of a discussion about “why” so that he develops better judgement, discernment and (hopefully!) taste.

He is also limited to amount of Facebook time, and only after homework or chores are finished and lots of daily exercise and activity has occurred. I don’t see FB as any different than anything else that requires me to live up to my role as an active mother engaged every day in helping my child grow up over time to be a socially responsible, fun and good human being.

Leave a Reply

